Outgoing Introvert at ATD2016 Conference

Anyone whos met me would swear up one side and down the other that I’m the most outgoing extroverted people-person you could ever meet. And as long as I was with one person I know well, that description fits me to a tee. 

For a while. 

See, I like people, but I MUST HAVE disappearing time to recharge. You’ll never see me doing a full day at the convention center. I can’t. 

What’s it like being a people person who suddenly can’t be around people? 

It’s like my nerve endings are exposed and the slightest movement will flay the skin from my bones. The voices are louder and louder and drown out every thought in my head except “GET OUT”.  My fists clench, and it’s all I can do to keep from screaming. 

I go to a quiet place, turn off tvs, radios, texts. Emails, and just relax. 

I’ve been like this my whole life. 

I know I’m not the only outgoing introvert here. Anyone else?

About Tricia Ransom

Patricia Ransom: wife, daughter, friend. Learning, laughing, living. Chicago, Illinois, downstate. Townie, urbanite, traveller. Note: The opinions expressed on this blog belong solely to me and should not be assumed to reflect the opinions of any of my employers past, current, or future.
This entry was posted in 2016, Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Outgoing Introvert at ATD2016 Conference

  1. Jenise Cook says:

    Maybe you’re an Ambivert? I am. 🙂

    @jenisecook

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment